Blog »

Announcing the 2009 Festival Award Winners

Announcing the 2009 Festival Award Winners

Honokaa Boy

DC APA Film congratulates our 2009 award winners! These films are making their Washington D.C. debut at out festival and this may be your only chance to see them. If you’re wondering what films to see, consider this your guide.

Best Feature Documentary Whatever It Takes, winner of two Audience Choice Awards, has been selling out screenings in NY, LA, and SF. The documentary chronicles the struggles and triumphs of the very first year of the Bronx Center for Science & Mathematics, an innovative public high school set in NYC’s South Bronx.

Best Feature Narrative Honokaa Boy, shot in a small town on the north shore of the big island of Hawaii, tells the coming-of-age story of Leo, a Japanese college student, who, while on vacation with his girlfriend, falls in love with the sleepy Hawaii town of Honokaa. Leo befriends the quirky elderly Japanese residents, including porn-loving Koichi and the elderly confectioner and home gourmand Bee.

Best Short Documentary A Song for Ourselves is an intimate journey into the life and music of Asian American Movement troubadour Chris Iijima. He later becomes a law professor and writes about discrimination against Asian Americans.

Best Short Narrative Crocodile hails from Australia and revolves around Aussie Filipino children. The short is an atmospheric reflection on nature and family.

The George C. Lin Emerging Filmmaker Award goes to Tze Chun, Director of Closing Night Film Children of Invention. The award recognizes the director for his talent and exemplary commitment to filmmaking within the Asian and Asian American media & arts genre.

We will have quotes from the filmmakers and spotlight some found a dream house the films in the next few days. Congratulations to all of our award winners!

Click here to see the entire film schedule.


Leave A Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>